Breaking: President Muhammadu Buhari and Yemi Osinbajo sworn in for second term .

The Nigerian President ,Muhammadu Buhari and his vice Yemi Osinbajo ,have been sworn in for a second term in office, today wensday 2019, report says .

According to , the oath of office was administered by Justice Tanko Mohammed , the acting Chief Justice of Nigeria ,at about 10.15am.

Independent National Electoral Commission ,INEC, had on February 27 declared President Buhari the winner of February 23 Presidential election .

The declaration was made by the returning officer for the 2019 presidential elections, Prof.Mahmood Yakubu.

According to INEC, Buhari ,the canditate of All Progressive Congress , scored a total of 15,191,847 votes to defeat the candidate of People’s Democratic Party , Atiku Abubakar , who scored 11,262,978 votes .

The service chiefs,CJN, Vice President and President were received by a colourful military parade at Eagle Square Abuja,the venue of the event.

The President and his vice were accompanied to the event by their wives, Ashia Buhari and Dolapo Osinbajo respectively .

Swearing of the president.
President Buhari. Photo source ; PUNCH.

According to Punchng ,there was lowering and hoisting of National and Defence flags and 21 gun salutes after the swearing-in. The President also inspected the Guard of Honour and acknowledged cheers from the guests.

Serving and former governors , service chiefs,members of the Federal Executive Council, Senate President, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Head of Civil Service of the Federation etc attended the event .

Leave a Reply